30 Days of activities with my Monkey: Day 1

28 Sep

Life’s been beautiful, crazy, time zapping, confusing, frustrating, but most of all a real blessing. Our little guy is growing nicely, new born niggles and all (read: help! I often have no idea what’s wrong and feel like I should!), and the big sister monkey is adapting like a super star all things considering.

I have to admit that one of the biggest issues since Miles has joined our family is the guilt I feel not having as much time with my biggest monkey. We’re so incredibitly lucky to have the most amazing Gogo to help out in this regard but I still have days of feeling desperately guilty of not being able to split myself in pieces for Miles, Layla and of course my man.

Any way, it is what it is, and instead of feeling guilty about it I thought it would be a good idea to come up with some ideas of quality time that I can spend with Layla for the next 30 days. Instead of finding myself with half an hour of free time and then not knowing what to do with it, I’ve written down a few ideas and will see how we goes.

 

(Image source: Pinterest)

Day 1 tied in nicely with our ‘stand in’ Granny coming over for some tea and because I’d kind of missed her birthday last week we decided it would be good to throw her a tea party… with us decorating Marie biscuits for the tea (I was going to do cupcakes but ran out of time and the biscuits were perfect actually). Hats off to Vicky for actually eating one of these biscuits covered in too much icing and pretty sprinkles).

Layla loved this activity. It was just long enough to hold her attention, and of course the yummies that went with it were an added bonus, testing the ingredients as we went.

All we needed was some marie biscuits, icing sugar, sprinkles and smarties. We put the table outside because of the stickiness factor and the fun started..

Here are some pics of us having some fun… (pics taken with my phone!)

 

 

 

Love the chubby little fingers with all that colour!

 

 

 

Decorating…So much concentration…

 

 

Hmmm I think I’ll just test one before the tea party starts 🙂

Not quite how ours turned out, but couldn’t resist posting the pretty colours of these cupcakes (plus the recipe of course)!

6 Responses to “30 Days of activities with my Monkey: Day 1”

  1. cupcakemummy September 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Brilliant idea!

    • colourgiggles September 28, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      yay, glad you like… let me know if you have any ideas I can add to my mix 🙂

      • cupcakemummy September 28, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

        i have looooooots and most are messy and colourful 😉

  2. Candice September 28, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Thanks so much Judes- definitely going to do this with the girls, so quick and easy! Made cupcakes with Jamie the other day, but she lost interest quickly, iced marie biscuits are a much better bet!

    • Caroline September 29, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

      Such a good mommy! Those messy one on one 20minutes with your baby girl speak volumes! X

  3. Tash September 29, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Aurora and I love “baking” the marie biscuits – she specifies the colour icing she wants and then we make a dozen biscuits – kitchen covered in vermicelli and hundred’s and thousand’s after but it’s so much fun! The cupcakes look absolutely divine! Will give them a bash 🙂

Leave a Reply

