Painting 101

6 Jun

So I have to be honest, the idea of painting is one that I love for our little people, the creativity that it promotes, the bright colours, the fun and mess that can be made – in my mind are all ingredients for a really fun time! The problem is that I just don’t do it enough because of the mess that it brings on! Baaaaad excuse I know…

Our little monkey got a very special and creative birthday present from a friend – a set of poster paints and a canvas, with a paint brush with a bow tied around it. I just LOVE this pressie – it even came with a suggestion that her first ‘masterpiece’ could be used in an artpiece for her brother/sister’s room that we need to get cracking on. Before we get started with her work of art on a canvas –  I saw this side walk paint the other day and thought I must try it – so this weekend, that’s what I’m going to do… no excuses.. I do also just love the colours of course, and I’m sure my little monkey will as well. Both the recipes in the paints below look easy and quick enough with no surprise ingredients that you won’t have (that’s coming from me who didn’t have any vanilla essence in the cupboard when making my monkey’s birthday cake two weeks ago, seriously – who doesn’t have vanilla essence in their cupboard!)

This recipe from Domestic Charm is for the sidewalk paint

And this recipe for puffy paint is from Get Your Mess On is…

Happy painting everyone… hope you enjoy the master pieces that are created.

3 Responses to “Painting 101”

  1. rachaelatheldbyhishand June 6, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Oooh, brilliant! Thanks for sharing the recipes! With a creative colour-lovin’ mamma like you, I’m sure your little monkey is going to make some awesome artwork over the years. 🙂

  2. Venessa June 7, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    WOW… What a CLEVER birthday pressie to give someone… I know from experience that it takes a lot of self control from a self confessed control freak mom to not interfere too much… But that being said it is a good idea to try teach your little artist the importance of rinsing your paint brush (or finger oor hand) BEFORE using the next colour… Also to restrain and let colours dry before taking the next step… So having paper for your child to mess (I mean paint) on while you skillfully remove canvas to dry, will help with the possible tantrum of stopping painting session too soon. Unfortunately your childs painting may as well have been a mudcake if you do leave them to go wild… All the colours mixed into a lovely shade of … Well mud comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

