Hey little monkey

1 Apr

My little monkey….how is it that you’re getting so big… in 2 months and 3 days time you’ll be turning 2, and I remember the day I first held you in my arms like it was yesterday. It feels like we were blowing out the candle on your very first birthday cake last weekend. All the things that you’ve learnt in these (almost) two short years, how your little personality grows each and every day, your sense of humour has us laughing out loud every day, and how you know what you want so strongly already!

The fact is that I simply can’t imagine life without you in it every day, and every now and then I catch myself in pure amazement that you are actually ours, and that we are in fact parents and somehow managed to progress from the days of wild parties, sleeping in on weekends, spontanious outings and all these sort of things that we took for granted without sometimes even realizing it.

Sometimes it’s overwhelming my  monkey, sometimes I stress that we’re not doing it right, especially like this morning when I’m not sure who had the bigger tantrum, you or me… But then there are so many times I go in to tuck you up at night (ok, let me rather say try and get a blanket to stay on you for more than 2 minutes) and the tears just well up in my eyes just because you seem so perfect, innocent and beautiful in every cell of your body, inside and out and I wonder how on earth I could get frustrated when things aren’t going to plan! The very fact that I shouldn’t exactly win mother of the day award so often, only to be rewarded with  all you wanting from me is for me to pick you up and hold you, your love is so unconditional and for that I just thank you from the bottom of my heart.

My promise to you is that we will try harder as parents every single day, through the tough times and the good times. Thank you for reminding us every day that a smile can fix so many things, and just for loving your mommy and daddy with all your heart. We will make mistakes my monkey, but just know that we love you with all our hearts, to the moon and back, and more than the number of stars in the sky. You are a blessing in our lives, now and forever xxx Love you, Mommy x

Leave a Reply

