A big girl bed!

15 Mar

So I have to be honest, as super cute that all these big girl beds are in the pics to follow, the thought of moving my monkey (21 months) to a big girl bed is enough to keep me awake at night! The thing is that with monkey 2 on the way, I want her to be settled in a big girl bed before baby arrives (I need the cot!). With only 5 months to go, I reckon I can’t leave it that much longer to give her time to settle in… Any mom’s out there with any tips – please feel free to share the advice on a smooth transition, and more importantly how we’re going to keep her in her bed.

Anyway, don’t you think these ideas are cute! Whether they make the transition any easier, I”m not too sure, but cute either way!

Image from Minlilla Veranda 

Can you imagine how excited I was when a friend sent me the website for Nest – a local company that is an online retail store selling a beautiful range of furniture and storage solutions, just for kids!

(Image from Nest)

(Image from Pinterest)

Love the little lights on this bed from Thrifty Southern Living with Brooke

5 Responses to “A big girl bed!”

  1. Lizanne Pitt March 15, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I moved my son to a big bed at 14 months… he was ready and hated his cot. It was actually really easy. I think the main thing is to make a big deal about how lovely the big bed is, and get her really pretty bedding.

  2. blairscheepers March 15, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    So glad I just found your blog on Becoming You’s The Great SA Blogroll! Loving your posts! As for this one. The bed from Nest looks timeless! I’d choose that one.

  3. Kelly Daniels March 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    We moved our little one into a big bed about 2months ago, she was 22 months. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be just make sure that the routine stays the same, we always read before bed and you have to be diligent about putting her back to bed if she gets out even if you do it 100 times a night. The first night was easy, think it was a novelty but the second night we had to keep putting her back. Two nights later and she was hooked.

  4. TJ March 15, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Some great ideas!

    Yes, better to get her accustomed to her own bed now because she may feel that you had to move her to give the baby the cot which could cause more resentment which is unnecessary. My son moved into his bed 2 months before the baby came. It was easier than we thought. The first thing he did, before the bedding was even on was grab a blanket and lie on the bed.

    We just used Supernanny’s Sleep Seperation technique – it went well and fast. When baby came, we had to reinforce the sleep training – it took 2 months but that was him playing up because of the baby. He would get up every night to get into bed with us as well.

    We eventually got to the point we’re at now which is to put him in his room, close the door until the morning. When he wakes at night, he realises the door is closed and gets back in bed. My son I have found is also a sleep walker or something close to that because when the door is open, he will cry when he is at the BOTTOM OF THE STAIRS – without attempting to come into our room first!

    Just make sure all dangerous things are out the way and her path is clear at night for when she does get out of bed – all toys packed away.
    Like those little lights on the bed may look cute – it’s probably a strangulation hazard! I wouldn’t use it!.

  5. Sherri March 17, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    I have a 11 month old and a 4week old. Yes! Two babies! A big girl bed will not be an option (she’s still too young for that kind of freedom) when the littlest one needs a crib. I intend to utilize my pack-n-play for the interim.

Leave a Reply

