Cake Smash

7 Oct

It’s the Dad of this Family’s birthday today and I’m wondering whether he’s too old for a Cake Smash… I could use the cake that he left behind this morning when he walks in the door this evening. ha ha.. Love ya Gav

Anyway, I’ve been noticing the term ‘Cake Smash’ quite a bit recently, and I know for sure it’s certainly not a new concept (I have photos taken of me 33 years ago to prove this), but I do love the way families are capturing the moment more now…

Here are some photos I’ve found recently for some ideas… nothing cuter than seeing the birthday babies getting stuck into a cake like only they know how!

I just LOVE this picture from Jasonangelini.com

Photo from www.sarahwilkesphotography.co.uk

Photo from Kelly Decoteau Photography

Photo from Katie Baldi Photography

Love this montage from Karen Halbert Photography

I could go on and on posting pics cause they really are the cutest and there are just so many different ideas. I would love to know if any of you have done a Cake Smash?

Happy Birthday my Gav… thanks for being the bestest Husband and Daddy in the whole world. For taking care of our family, for protecting us, for loving us, for making us laugh SO much, for everything you do… Wishing you so much happiness in this next year.Β Β  Love Me and your Monkey x

6 Responses to “Cake Smash”

  1. Kim October 7, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Love this post! I’ve been thinking of doing this for Alex’s birthday in November. I just have to get past my ‘keep it neat and tidy’ mentality. Photo’s have given me some ideas πŸ™‚ THANKS!

  2. Kim October 7, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Oh … and a very big happy, happy to your hubby πŸ™‚

  3. colourgiggles October 7, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Thanks Kim! Can’t believe it’s already your little man’s 1st birthday next month.. Be sure to send photos if you do the cake smash. Thanks for the wishes for Gav, I’ll pass them on for sure πŸ™‚

  4. melinda October 7, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Haven’t done a cake smash birthday yet, though some friends have done so…unintentionally. My husband also once did a cake toss (but that’s a blog story). This has inspired me to do one soonest xxx awesome pics

    PS – hubby birthday Happy πŸ™‚

  5. colourgiggles October 7, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    @Melinda – Cake Toss, sounds like it could be even more fun πŸ™‚ Looking forward to the pics when you do one!

  6. cupcakemummy October 19, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    have done one of these, absolutely loved it, not sure who enjoyed it more – me or the little one i was photographing

Leave a Reply

