Things to make Tuesday: Slime and Puzzle Blocks

17 May

I should have posted this before Mother’s day as I reckon these handmade puzzle blocks will make  great presents. There is a tutorial over at 101 Woonideeen, but as far as I can tell it’s in Dutch. So… I’ll try and translate using some Afrikaans! Here goes!

You need:

  • 9 blocks
  • 4 sheets 100g white card stock
  • scanner / printer
  • felt tip pens (I’m taking a guess with this translation)
  • craft knife
  • glue / double sided tape (another guess)

Instructions:

  1. Scan pictures your kids have drawn
  2. Measure the length and width of your puzzle
  3. Print the scanned picture to those measurements
  4. Add some colour to the pictures
  5. hmm, not sure if you cut the printed cardstock out first into 9 blocks and then stick them down individually, or stick the sheet to all 9 blocks and then use the craft knife to cut – i’ll let you figure that out 🙂 I think they stick and then cut.
  6. Repeat for the other sides
  7. They’ve only done four pictures and left the other sides blank (FYI)

Last Tuesday I mentioned tactile play with the coloured rice – I reckon that making this slime would take tactile to a whole new level 🙂

(Image and Tutorial at The Ideas Room)

And how about this uber cute idea to make – I’m sure I remember having something like this growing up. Giddy Giddy shows us how to make one, quite easily, for yourself…. I mean your kids.

Leave a Reply

