Suitcase love

18 Apr

I’ve had suitcase envy ever since seeing some ‘vintage’ suitcases that a friend recently found at a second hand market that’s in my hood. I love the creative ways that these suitcases are used below… too much of love, and I need me some suitcases.

Craft storage from Apartment Therapy

The cutest metal tea set in a suitcase from Dear Baby Blog

Botany Kits for kids in a suitcase from Playful Learning

(Image source: Ritzy Bee)

9 Responses to “Suitcase love”

  1. Belly B April 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I love those suitcases! And your blog name is adorable 🙂

    Belly B
    http://www.papertiaras.com

  2. Tracy Schimper April 18, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    You’ll have to come and visit, you obviously haven’t seen mine that have been in storage. Some fab ideas here, thanks for sharing. Only problem is mine are REALLY old leather and are musty smelling inside. Thought they’d be great for storing my sewing stuff and materials, but not until I sort the smell out, for now they’re just stacked on top of each other at my entrance.

  3. Helen April 22, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    I just bought a vintage suitcase for my girls’ dress-up clothes and didn’t quite notice the smell until I got it home. I put a box baking soda in it and am patiently wait to see if that helps.

    I would love other ideas – coffee beans maybe?

    • colourgiggles April 22, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      I’ve heard that leaving a bowl of vinegar might help, or also kitty litter?

      Hope you both find something that works! Otherwise, I did also see a lovely post where they planted some very pretty spring flowers in an old suitcase 🙂 Not quite the same I know!

  4. Tracy Schimper April 22, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Helen, please let me know if the baking soda works, if it does i’ll do it with my suitcases aswell, if not i’ll try the vinegar or kitty litter. ta

  5. Helen April 23, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    I have had the baking soda in for almost a week. I’ll check it in the next few days and let you know. I’m already planning to try cat litter next – I’ll report back on that one too! Thank you for the suggestion. I feel like I am conducting a science experiment!

  6. Helen July 24, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    I’m awfully embarrassed that is has taken me this long, and humored that my experiment took exactly 3 months. I’m happy to report that the kitty litter worked!

    I poured the entire box of litter in the suitcase and turned the case over whenever I remembered. This week I just got the urge to use the case…I dumped out the liter, left the case outside overnight and I’m really very happy with the result. Yea!

    I’ll be ‘decorating’ it soon and will send you a link.

    Thanks for the suggestion Jude.

    • Tracy Schimper July 24, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      @ Helen. Funnily enough we’ve just had a big scrapbooking function at my girls school and we used my suitcases as part of the entrance decor. Thanks for lettting me know the kitty litter worked, I’m going to get some this morning and give it a bash. I had to laugh at your ‘sorry it took 3 months’ life really gets in the way hey, I can so relate LOL!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Small Types: April Link List - April 27, 2011

    […] love those little mini-suitcases, especially when they're packed with fun.  Look at this great round up of kits from ColourGiggles.  A fun container for a writer's kit, don't you […]

Leave a Reply

