Find their magic

19 Sep

So a friend of mine recently told me of a parenting talk she went to where the presenter encouraged the parents to celebrate their child’s magic on a daily basis. This ‘magic’ doesn’t have to be exceptional achievements – we’re not all going to be the top of the class, or the Victrix ludorum, but what we can do is to find our child’s magic and celebrate it. Whether it’s how they care for their friends at school, or have a special love for  animals. They may love drawing,  this could be their magic, or perhaps the way they sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star in their tiny little voices, singing words that only half sound like the real words, flicking their hands to ‘Twinkle’! I reckon they’ll start becoming exceptional in many many areas when we started acknowledging it.

So my little monkey… Your magic that I see now is your smile and your friendly, open nature. It’s the way you smile at other children, grannies and grampa’s standing in the queue at the Supermarket, high fiving the ladies at the tills. It’s brave…. I know it is cause I can be the shyest mamma around sometime, and so I know it can be magic to be open and smiley to so many people out there.  Thank you for your magic, and thank you for letting us be a special part of it every single day!

(Image Source: Pinterest)

(Image from Tumblr)

Image from Ontobaby.com

(Image from Life’s a journal)

5 Responses to “Find their magic”

  1. Leigh September 20, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    I cried twice while reading your blog… sorry to read that you lost your baby, but God has an extra angel.
    I recognized myself and my toddler when I read the above, shy mama with a little prince of a boy, softly whispering bye bye when we leave the shops and wanting to hug all the dogs in the neighbourhood. We have to celebrate every day with our kids no matter what! Every little flower they pick and word they say, we will never get today back. Lots of love to you and all the mamas out there are doing a sterling job.

    • colourgiggles September 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      Thanks for lovely comment Leigh! Agree with your sentiments completely. Let’s celebrate something every day, even the rough days and the journey will become even more rewarding – I have no doubt of that.

  2. Leigh September 21, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    So true about celebrating every day that is given to us, I take my boy for a walk past someones baboon garden statues just to watch him hug, kiss and and pat them on the head!

  3. Mary Lou Dudley August 22, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    If I was still teaching preK and looking for a motto for the new school year, this would be it…”Find Their Magic”. Such an important reminder that every day is important for all of us. As my own children have grown, I find myself grateful for the little memories of their childhoods.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Magic in you « MissKDoingHerThing - September 20, 2011

    [...] blog post has been inspired by a post done by colourgiggles yesterday titled Find Their Magic. I love the idea of finding the magic in your child so decided to post about Miss K’s [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

